Website Language

Active date

FIFA World Cup opening games (2002-2014) (VIDEO)

2002 – South Korea, Japan

Opening game was held between France and Senegal. Senegal won 1-0.

That year Brazil became champions. Top scorer was Ronaldo with 8 goals.

2006 – Germany

Germany opened the game with 4-2 win over Costa Rica.

Italy was crowned as champions with Gianluigi Buffon being named as the best goalkeeper.

2010 – South Africa 

The opener was between South Africa and Mexico. It ended with a draw (1-1).

Spain became champions, thanks to Iniesta’s overtime goal against Netherlands.

1 2